Jackie Listens to: Kate Bush’s Lionheart (1978)

R-426108-1403546122-7845.jpeg

Kate Bush has another album in my Top 25, so I wanted to hear all of her albums.  This is the first I’ve heard of Lionheart, and I have to say I am constantly impressed with her work, but didn’t love this album.

An old boyfriend introduced me to Kate Bush since I expressed interest in Tori Amos, and it is an apt comparison.  Kate Bush‘s raw emotion and musical chops shine through on everything she touches, much like Tori Amos, and that is certainly true on this album, but Lionheart doesn’t seem to hold together as well as some other Kate Bush albums I’ve heard.  I love Kate Bush so much and I feel like this just isn’t her best work possible, which you don’t and can’t get all the time.  So it goes.

Standout tracks? I liked the classical lilt on Oh England My Lionheart, and the slow, understated In the Warm Room, but that was about it.  It just didn’t have that many memorable moments for me.  Wow stood out for all the wrong reasons, and it’s repetitious chorus left me more annoyed than enchanted.

Kate Bush is great.  I love her voice and musicality, but I give this album a pass unless you are so into Kate Bush that you just need more after listening to her other work.  I would recommend Hounds of Love or The Kick Inside.

 

Leave a Reply

